1. K-State home
  2. »Food Science Institute
  3. »Current Students
  4. »Student Spotlight

Food Science Institute

Food Science Institute - Student Spotlight

We Celebrate our Graduates!

The Food Science Institute held a virtual graduation party to honor our Spring and Summer 2020 graduates. Check out the video below and the Collection of Sentiments. We thank Christine Rock for her leadership in putting this celebration together!

FSI Student Selected for K-State's Johnson Cancer Research Team

K-State's Johnson Cancer Research Center has selected 42 students to participate in its undergraduate research mentoring and award program. The center's Cancer Research Award program promotes student participation in laboratory research. It encourages undergraduate students to consider careers in cancer research and medicine early on while they are still deciding what academic and professional paths to take. The award program, which is open to K-State undergraduate students interested in doing cancer-relevant research, provides $1,500 awards to at least 35 students a year, and $1,000 per student for research expenses. Students applied for the awards by co-writing research proposals with faculty mentors affiliated with the center. The awardees conduct their research in the mentors' laboratories during the spring semester.

Congratulations to Jacob Cindrich, senior in Food Science and Industry, biochemistry, and pre-medicine, Overland Park, KS for being selected! He will be mentored by Dr. John Tomich, professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics.

Student selected as Cargill Global Scholar

We congratulate Nathan Williams, sophomore in Food Science, for being selected as a Cargill Global Scholar for 2020.

Williams is an ambassador for the Staley School of Leadership Studies and K-State's pre-health program. He also is a member of the Food Science Club and Pre-Health Club. He is a Kansas State Distinguished University Scholar, Kansas Honor Scholar and a recipient of the Taylor Agriculture Scholarship. He works in the Kansas Value Added Foods Lab, which helps certify food products for retail for Kansas-based companies.