1. K-State home
  2. »Food Science Institute
  3. »About
  4. »People
  5. »Faculty

Food Science Institute

Food Science Institute

216 Call Hall
1530 Mid-Campus Drive North
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-4057
785-532-5861 fax
foodsci@ksu.edu

Food Science Institute

Food Science Institute Faculty - Alphabetical Listing

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Adjunct Faculty

Professors Emeriti

Food Science Institute Faculty ByLaws

Name

Title

Area of Specialization

Phone

Email

Alavi, SajidProfessorFood Engineering and Extrusion Processing785-532-2403salavi@k-state.edu
Amamcharla, JayendraAssociate ProfessorDairy Foods, Rapid & Alternative Methods for
Dairy and Food Analysis
785-532-1221jayendra@k-state.edu
Aramouni, FadiProfessor, Extension SpecialistProduct Development, HACCP, FSMA785-532-1668aramouni@k-state.edu
     
Beyer, ScottAssociate ProfessorNutritional Comp. of Poultry, Meat, and Eggs785-532-1201sbeyer@k-state.edu
Boyle, Elizabeth A.E.Professor, Extension SpecialistMeat Prod. Develop., Quality, Safety, HACCP785-532-1247lboyle@k-state.edu
     
Chambers, DeloresProfessorSensory Analysis and Food Marketing delores@k-state.edu
Chambers IV, EdgarProfessorSensory Analysis, Product Development eciv@k-state.edu
Chao, MichaelAssistant ProfessorFresh Meat Quality and Lipid Chemistry785-532-1230mdchao@k-state.edu
     
Dogan, HulyaProfessorFood Processing and Engineering785-532-2628dogan@k-state.edu
Drouillard, James S.ProfessorPre-Harvest Food Safety785-532-1204jdrouill@k-state.edu
     
Ellis, JasonProfessor, Department Head, Department of Communications and Agricultural EducationFood Safety, Communication785-532-5804jdellis@k-state.edu
     
Top of Page    
     
Getty, Kelly J.K.Associate ProfessorFood Safety, Meat Processing and HACCP785-532-2203kgetty@k-state.edu
Gragg, Sara Associate ProfessorFood Microbiology785-532-1306saragragg@k-state.edu
     
Haub, MarkProfessor, Department Head, Department of Food, Nutrition, Dietetics, and HealthNutrient Composition of Foods and Functional Foods785-532-5508haub@k-state.edu
Houser, TerryAssociate ProfessorChemical and Physical Characteristics of Meat houser@k-state.edu
Hutchinson, ShawnAssociate ProfessorGeospatial Analysis and Applications785-532-3414shutch@k-state.edu
     
Jones, CassandraAssociate ProfessorAnimal Feed Safety, Livestock Feed Manufacturing785-532-5289jonesc@k-state.edu
     
Kastner, JustinAssociate ProfessorHistorical Studies of Border Security, Policy, Food Safety785-532-4820jkastner@k-state.edu
Koppel, KadriAssociate ProfessorSensory Analysis785-532-0163kadri@k-state.edu
Kwon, JuneheeProfessorFood Safety Education/Training jkwon@k-state.edu
Top of Page    
Li, YonghuiAssistant ProfessorWheat Quality Lab785-532-4061yonghui@k-state.edu
     
Miller, RebeccaResearch Associate ProfessorQuality of Wheat, Flour and Baked Products785-532-6194beckym@k-state.edu
     
Nagaraja, T.G.University Distinguished ProfessorFood Safety/Antimicrobial Resistance785-532-1214tnagaraj@k-state.edu
Nutsch, AbbeyAssociate ProfessorInterdisciplinary Aspects of Food Safety and Security785-532-4549anutsch@k-state.edu
Nwadike, LondaAssistant Professor, Extension SpecialistFood Safety Extension913-307-7391lnwadike@k-state.edu
     
O'Quinn, TravisAssociate ProfessorFresh Meat Quality and Palatability785-532-3469travisoquinn@k-state.edu
     
Phebus, Randall K.ProfessorFood Microbiology and Toxicology785-532-1215phebus@k-state.edu
Prakash, OmProfessorCereal Biochemistry785-532-2345omp@k-state.edu
     
Reeck, Gerald R.ProfessorCereal Proteins, Inhibitors, and their Genes785-532-7278reeck@k-state.edu
Renter, DaveProfessorEpidemiology785-532-4801dgr@k-state.edu
Retzlaff, Deanna D.Associate ProfessorFood Microbiology and Safety785-532-2202retzlaff@ksu.edu
Roberts, KevinAssociate ProfessorFood Safety and HACCP
Product and Packaging Acceptability
785-532-2399kevrob@k-state.edu
     
Schmidt, Karen A.ProfessorDairy Products, Processing and Technology785-532-1216kschmidt@k-state.edu
Shanklin, Carol W.Professor, Dean K-State Graduate SchoolEnv. Issues Impacting Food Service Industry785-532-7927shanklin@k-state.edu
Shi, Yong-ChengProfessorCereal Grains Carbohydrate Specialization785-532-6771ycshi@k-state.edu
Smith, GordonProfessor, Department Head, Grain Science & Industry, IGP Institute DirectorFood Chemistry, Food Safety FDA and USDA Regulatory Affairs785-532-4052glsmith@k-state.edu
Smith, J. ScottProfessorFood Chemistry and Toxicology785-532-1219jsschem@k-state.edu
Sun, Xiuzhi (Susan)University Distinguished ProfessorBiomaterial Process Engineering785-532-4077xss@k-state.edu
Top of Page    
     
Thurston, JeanetteDirector, Food Science InstituteFood and Water Microbiology, Food Safety785-532-1234jthurston@k-state.edu
Trinetta, ValentinaAssistant ProfessorFood Microbiology, Food Safety785-532-1667vtrinetta@k-state.edu
     
Vipham, JessieAssistant ProfessorFood Security, Food Microbiology785-532-3486jessiev@k-state.edu
     
Wang, Donghai ProfessorBioprocessing and Bioconversion of Agriculture Products785-532-2919dwang@k-state.edu
Wang, Wiegun (George)ProfessorFunctional Foods, Dietary Calories785-532-5508wwang@k-state.edu
     
Yucel, UmutAssistant ProfessorFood Chemistry, Physical Methods785-532-1208yucel@k-state.edu
     
     

Adjunct Faculty

NameTitleArea of Specialization Email
Ackleson, JasonAdjunct Assistant ProfessorBorder Security and Trade Policy jason.ackleson@gmail.com
Cooksey, KayAdjunct ProfessorFood Packaging kcookse@k-state.edu
Jones, MarlenaAdjunct InstructorFlavor Chemistry wsjmb@centurytel.net
Regenstein, JoeAdjunct ProfessorKosher and Halal Food Regulations jmr9@k-state.edu
     

Professors Emeriti

NameArea of ResearchEmail
Dikeman, Michael E.Bovine Growth and Compositiondikeman@k-state.edu
Erickson, Larry E.Biochemical Engineering and Food Engineeringlerick@k-state.edu
Faubion, JonCereal Chemistry, Ingredient & Component Functionality jfaubion@k-state.edu 
Fung, Daniel Y.C.Food Microbiology and Rapid Methodsdfung@k-state.edu
Hunt, Melvin C.Chemical and Physical Characteristics of Meathhunt@k-state.edu
Kastner, Curtis L.Physical and Chemical Attributes of Meat and Meats Productsckastner@k-state.edu 
Kropf, Donald H.Meat Color, Packaging and Processingdkropf@k-state.edu
Madl, RonBioprocessing and Industrial Value Addedrmadl@k-state.edu
Marsden, James L.Food Safety and Meat Microbiology Strategiesjmarsden@k-state.edu
Oberst, Richard D. oberst@k-state.edu
Sneed, Jeannie jsneed@k-state.edu
   
Top of Page