1. K-State home
  2. »Food Science Institute
  3. »About
  4. »People
  5. »Faculty

Food Science Institute

Food Science Institute

216 Call Hall
1530 Mid-Campus Drive North
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-4057
785-532-5861 fax
foodsci@ksu.edu

Food Science Institute

Food Science Institute Faculty - Alphabetical Listing

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Adjunct Faculty

Professors Emeriti

Food Science Institute Faculty ByLaws

Name

Title
Area of Specialization

Phone
Email

Alavi, SajidProfessor
Food Engineering and Extrusion Processing
785-532-2403
salavi@k-state.edu
Amamcharla, JayendraAssociate Professor
Dairy Foods, Rapid & Alternative Methods for 
Dairy and Food Analysis
785-532-1221
jayendra@k-state.edu
Aramouni, FadiProfessor, Extension Specialist
Product Development, HACCP, FSMA
785-532-1668
aramouni@k-state.edu
   
Beyer, ScottAssociate Professor
Nutritional Comp. of Poultry, Meat, and Eggs
785-532-1201
sbeyer@k-state.edu
Bhullar, Manreet SinghAssistant Professor
Produce Safety 
913-307-7315
msbhullar@k-state.edu
 
Boyle, Elizabeth A.E.Professor, Extension Specialist
Meat Prod. Develop., Quality, Safety, HACCP
785-532-1247
lboyle@k-state.edu
   
Chambers, DeloresProfessor
Sensory Analysis and Food Marketing
delores@k-state.edu
Chambers IV, EdgarProfessor
Sensory Analysis, Product Development
eciv@k-state.edu
Chao, MichaelAssistant Professor
Fresh Meat Quality and Lipid Chemistry
785-532-1230
mdchao@k-state.edu
   
Dogan, HulyaProfessor
Food Processing and Engineering
785-532-2628
dogan@k-state.edu
Drouillard, James S.Professor
Pre-Harvest Food Safety
785-532-1204
jdrouill@k-state.edu
   
Ellis, JasonProfessor, Department Head
Department of Communications and
Agricultural Education
Food Safety, Communication
785-532-5804
jdellis@k-state.edu
   
Top of Page  
   
Getty, Kelly J.K.Associate Professor
Food Safety, Meat Processing and HACCP
785-532-2203
kgetty@k-state.edu
Gragg, Sara Associate Professor
Food Microbiology
785-532-1306
saragragg@k-state.edu
   
Haub, MarkProfessor, Department Head
Department of Food, Nutrition, Dietetics, and Health
Nutrient Composition of Foods and Functional Foods
785-532-5508
haub@k-state.edu
Hutchinson, ShawnAssociate Professor
Geospatial Analysis and Applications
785-532-3414
shutch@k-state.edu
   
Jones, CassandraAssociate Professor
Animal Feed Safety, Livestock Feed Manufacturing
785-532-5289
jonesc@k-state.edu
   
Kastner, JustinAssociate Professor
Historical Studies of Border Security,
Policy, Food Safety
785-532-4820
jkastner@k-state.edu
Koppel, KadriAssociate Professor
Sensory Analysis
785-532-0163
kadri@k-state.edu
Kwon, JuneheeProfessor
Food Safety Education/Training
jkwon@k-state.edu
Top of Page  
Li, YonghuiAssistant Professor
Wheat Quality Lab
785-532-4061
yonghui@k-state.edu
   
Miller, RebeccaResearch Associate Professor
Quality of Wheat, Flour and Baked Products
785-532-6194
beckym@k-state.edu
   
Nagaraja, T.G.University Distinguished Professor
Food Safety/Antimicrobial Resistance
785-532-1214
tnagaraj@k-state.edu
Nutsch, AbbeyAssociate Professor
Interdisciplinary Aspects of Food Safety and Security
785-532-4549
anutsch@k-state.edu
Nwadike, LondaAssistant Professor, Extension Specialist
Food Safety Extension
913-307-7391
lnwadike@k-state.edu
   
O'Quinn, TravisAssociate Professor
Fresh Meat Quality and Palatability
785-532-3469
travisoquinn@k-state.edu
   
Phebus, Randall K.Professor
Food Microbiology and Toxicology
785-532-1215
phebus@k-state.edu
Prakash, OmProfessor
Cereal Biochemistry
785-532-2345
omp@k-state.edu
   
Reeck, Gerald R.Professor
Cereal Proteins, Inhibitors, and their Genes
785-532-7278
reeck@k-state.edu
Renter, DaveProfessor
Epidemiology
785-532-4801
dgr@k-state.edu
Retzlaff, Deanna D.Associate Professor
Food Microbiology and Safety
785-532-2202
retzlaff@ksu.edu
Roberts, KevinAssociate Professor
Food Safety and HACCP
Product and Packaging Acceptability
785-532-2399
kevrob@k-state.edu
   
Schmidt, Karen A.Professor
Dairy Products, Processing and Technology
785-532-1216
kschmidt@k-state.edu
Shanklin, Carol W.Professor, Dean K-State Graduate School
Env. Issues Impacting Food Service Industry
785-532-7927
shanklin@k-state.edu
Shi, Yong-ChengProfessor
Cereal Grains Carbohydrate Specialization
785-532-6771
ycshi@k-state.edu
Smith, GordonProfessor
Department Head, Grain Science & Industry
IGP Institute Director
Food Chemistry
Food Safety FDA and USDA Regulatory Affairs
785-532-4052
glsmith@k-state.edu
Smith, J. ScottProfessor
Food Chemistry and Toxicology
785-532-1219
jsschem@k-state.edu
Sun, Xiuzhi (Susan)University Distinguished Professor
Biomaterial Process Engineering
785-532-4077
xss@k-state.edu
Top of Page  
   
Thurston, JeanetteDirector, Food Science Institute
Food and Water Microbiology, Food Safety
785-532-1234
jthurston@k-state.edu
Trinetta, ValentinaAssistant Professor
Food Microbiology, Food Safety
785-532-1667
vtrinetta@k-state.edu
   
Vipham, JessieAssistant Professor
Food Security, Food Microbiology
785-532-3486
jessiev@k-state.edu
   
Wang, Donghai Professor
Bioprocessing and Bioconversion of Agriculture Products
785-532-2919
dwang@k-state.edu
Wang, Wiegun (George)Professor
Functional Foods, Dietary Calories
785-532-5508
wwang@k-state.edu
   
Yucel, UmutAssistant Professor
Food Chemistry, Physical Methods
785-532-1208
yucel@k-state.edu
   
   

Adjunct Faculty

NameTitle
Area of Specialization
Email
Ackleson, JasonAdjunct Assistant Professor
Border Security and Trade Policy
jason.ackleson@gmail.com
Cooksey, KayAdjunct Professor
Food Packaging
kcookse@k-state.edu
Jones, MarlenaAdjunct Instructor
Flavor Chemistry
wsjmb@centurytel.net
Regenstein, JoeAdjunct Professor
Kosher and Halal Food Regulations
jmr9@k-state.edu
   

Professors Emeriti

NameArea of ResearchEmail
Dikeman, Michael E.Bovine Growth and Compositiondikeman@k-state.edu
Erickson, Larry E.Biochemical Engineering and Food Engineeringlerick@k-state.edu
Faubion, JonCereal Chemistry, Ingredient & Component Functionality jfaubion@k-state.edu 
Hunt, Melvin C.Chemical and Physical Characteristics of Meathhunt@k-state.edu
Kastner, Curtis L.Physical and Chemical Attributes of Meat and Meats Productsckastner@k-state.edu 
Kropf, Donald H.Meat Color, Packaging and Processingdkropf@k-state.edu
Madl, RonBioprocessing and Industrial Value Addedrmadl@k-state.edu
Marsden, James L.Food Safety and Meat Microbiology Strategiesjmarsden@k-state.edu
Oberst, Richard D. oberst@k-state.edu
Sneed, Jeannie jsneed@k-state.edu
   
Top of Page